Get in contact with us to start planning your journey to the Land of the Thunder Dragon with Precious Bhutan Travel Contact Us

Bhutan At A Glance


The Kingdom of Bhutan lies hidden in the folds of the eastern Himalayas between the two giant countries of China (Tibet) to the north and the Indian territories of Assam and West Bengal to the south, Arunachal Pradesh to the east and Sikkim to the west. With a total area of 38,394 sq. kilometers, Bhutan lies between 88° 45’ and 92°10’ longitude East and 26°42’ and 28°15 ’ latitude North. Bhutan is a mountainous country except for a small flat strip in the southern foothills with hot and humid summer. The valleys in the central and the northern parts are separated by mountains as high as 7200 meters.


Bhutan has a total area of 38,394 square kilometers with an aerial distance of around 350km from east to west and around 150km from north to south.


The altitude in bhutan ranges from 100 meters from south to 7200 meters towards north and 3000 meters from east to 3500 meters to west.


Bhutan Standard Time (BST) is 6 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+6).


There are 20 districts in Bhutan.

List of 20 districts

# Name Zone
1. Bumthang Southern
2. Chukha Western
3. Dagana Central
4. Gasa Central
5. Haa Western
6. Lhuntse Eastern
7. Mongar Eastern
8. Paro Western
9. Pemagatshel Eastern
10. Punakha Central
11. Samdrup Jongkhar Eastern
12. Samtse Western
13. Sarpang Southern
14. Thimphu Western
15. Trashigang Eastern
16. Trashiyangtse Eastern
17. Trongsa Southern
18. Tsirang Central
19. Wangdue Phodrang Central
20. Zhemgang Southern


The capital of Bhutan is Thimphu. It is situated in the western central part of Bhutan and the surrounding valley is one of Bhutan’s dzongkhags (district), the Thimphu District. The city became the capital of Bhutan in 1961.


The population of as of 2015 is 770 thousand people.


The official language of Bhutan is Dzongkha though there are other languages spoken by the Bhutanese like Lhotshampkha, Sarchop, Khengkha, Bumthangkha, etc


The Bhutanese Ngultrum is the currency of Bhutan. The currency rankings show that the most popular Bhutan Ngultrum exchange rate is the USD to BTN rate. The currency code for Ngultrum is BTN.